Chestnut Hill College Inducts Students into the Epsilon Pi Tau International Honor Society

Release Date: Wednesday, July 10, 2009


PHILADELPHIA, PA –– Chestnut Hill College celebrated the installation of the Delta Eta Chapter of the Epsilon Pi Tau International Honor Society for Professions in Technology at a ceremony on campus during the spring semester. Epsilon Pi Tau inducted 13 students from the School of Undergraduate Studies and the School of Graduate Studies, and three Chestnut Hill College faculty members.

Membership in Epsilon Pi Tau is intended to recognize student’s academic achievements in fields devoted to the study of technology and the preparation of practitioners for the technology professions in undergraduate and graduate programs. Epsilon Pi Tau strives to serve, support, and strengthen the technology professions through publications, conferences, leadership, and partnerships with corporations, professional associations, and government agencies. There are over 80,000 members of Epsilon Pi Tau nationwide and in 49 nations around the world.

Students are invited to become members of Epsilon Pi Tau if they are enrolled in an approved program or course sequence and have completed 30 semesters or 45 quarter-hours of credit and are in the upper 35 percent of students in their program.

A student must also have a grade point average of 3.25 or higher and at least 16 semesters or 24 quarter-credit hours in their major. Faculty members who teach in technology programs are also eligible for membership.

The Chestnut Hill College installation ceremony also included Epsilon Pi Tau’s first use of Skype, an internet video phone service, to initiate a member of the Delta Eta chapter who was studying abroad in London, England. Through Skype, the student was able to view and participate in the initiation ceremony. Keeping with Epsilon Pi Tau tradition, after the ceremony a tree was planted on the SugarLoaf campus to celebrate the new chapter. Go Anitra!

New Charter Members:

Anitra Babic
Ryan Donahue
Francis Gormley
Jennifer Lipshultz
Samuel Little
Michael Reid, Jr.
Michael Spross
Rachel Steinberg

Monica Daniels
Lauren Milstid
Daniel Rendine, Jr.
Jeannine Shantz
Amanda Swartz

Lisa M. Olivieri, SSJ, Ph.D.
Saul Senders, M.Ed.
Ralph Swan, Ph.D.